I love Skinnytaste and Baked Chicken with Dijon and Lime

24 Apr

The weather here in the eastern part of the U.S. is ca-ray-zy!  One day it’s sunny and 75 degrees and the next day it’s snowing!  What in the heck is going on?  I never know if I should plan for warm, comforting foods for dinner or plan something for the grill.  Either way, I still have to cook.  Poo.  Can I have next week off, please?

Since there is no way to figure this out, I have to go with things that work in any type of weather.  One of those things is good ole baked chicken.  Except, it’s usually so boring.  I mean, you could season it a little to help it along.  Or you could do what I do and that’s scour the internet for recipes.  Ones that are easy, don’t have obscure ingredients in them that no one’s heard of, and actually taste good.

Which brings me to my favorite website, Skinnytaste.  The woman is a genius.  Literally.  If a woman can come up with recipes for those of us that aren’t naturally inclined in the kitchen to be able to make with ease, then she’s brilliant in my book.

And to top it off, they are ALL waist conscious recipes.  If you’re into Weight Watchers, which I do happen to be, then you’ll love her even more.  She posts all of the nutritional information along with the points values.  I just love it because I can actually cook meals that don’t make me gain a million pounds and my family would never guess they are eating my “diet” food.

Here’s what I made last night:

      Baked Chicken with Dijon and Lime.  Yum.

You can find her recipe here.

But since I’m a girl that totally needs pictures to guide me through each step, I figured that there may be a few of you out there that need the same.

Baked Chicken with Dijon and Lime:

  • 8 small chicken thighs, skin removed
  • 3 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp light mayonnaise
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 lime, squeezed, and lime zest
  • 3/4 tsp pepper
  • salt
  • dried parsley

First get your ingredients together and preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Then wash your chicken thoroughly, place it in a bowl and season with salt.

Next, get a smaller bowl and mix the mustard, mayo, garlic, lime and pepper together.

Oops!  I forgot a picture of me putting in the garlic but I think you can handle it!

Last, pour the ingredients on top of the chicken in the larger bowl and get your hands in there and mix it up!  Place it in a dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray to prevent sticking. Topped with dried parsley. 

Cook for approximately 30-35 minutes.  Gina says to put it under the broiler to brown it up but I’m too impatient for that part so I usually stop there. 

Yummo!

My family requests this often.  Along with everything I’ve ever cooked from Skinnytaste.  I tell everyone I know about the site.  Everyone.  And now you know too!  Thank you, Gina, for making my life easy.

Happy Eating!!  (Because when is it not?)

K. ❤

4 Responses to “I love Skinnytaste and Baked Chicken with Dijon and Lime”

  1. Anonymous April 25, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I’l have to try this. It sounds simple and yummy, too!

    • Et Que Cette April 25, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Totally simple! Let me know what you think?

  2. Leigh April 24, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    That sounds so yummy! I’m going to have to make it this week!

    • Et Que Cette April 24, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      It is yummy! You probably have most of the ingredients already. 🙂 Don’t forget to come back and tell me how you liked it!

Can't wait to hear your thoughts!

